Porto
Reversing your insulin resistance doesn’t have to be hard!

About Me

Hi, I’m Vanessa. I am passionate about helping people with prediabetes or insulin resistance lower their blood sugar and keep it from creeping back up.

Improving your health doesn’t have to involve making huge sacrifices and being miserable. That simply is not sustainable! My approach is to provide practical advice that is based on science and that fits your life, long-term. You will not see me promoting fad diets, detox juices, or miracle pills.

I’ve been there. I have a history of gestational diabetes, and several family members with type 2 diabetes. In 2021, I was given a prediabetes diagnosis. It was crushing but also a huge wake up call. I dug into the latest science and found practical ways to balance my blood sugar. By focusing on simple behaviors that keep my blood sugars stable, not only did I lower my A1c to under 5.7% in 3 months, I also have more energy and fewer cravings! All without eliminating carbs or following any fad diet. All while working full time and raising my twins.

Now I want to help you do the same!

I am a Registered Dietitian with a PhD in Nutritional Sciences. My professional background encompasses nutritional biochemistry to public health nutrition. I have published journal articles and textbook chapters. I have also been trained in Motivational Interviewing, in sleep hygiene, and as a CDC Diabetes Prevention Program lifestyle coach. Chronic disease prevention is the reason I chose this career, and I have focused on improving health through nutrition for the last decade.

On a personal level, I am Portuguese-Canadian and grew up in Brazil (Sim, eu falo português!). I have been in the United States for over 20 years. It is no surprise that I love all things food and all things travel.

I live in beautiful Denver, Colorado. When I’m not running after my very energetic 6-year-old twins, I also enjoy:

  • Reading (paperback books when possible)
  • Trying out new recipes (my latest fave is tofu scramble!)
  • Running errands on my e-cargo bike (her name is Stella)
  • Watercolor painting
  • Yoga / Meditation
  • Dreaming about our next trip (the picture above is in Portugal)